Untie iPad From Icloud With A Forgotten Password

If you decide to sell or transfer your iPhone to someone, before that it makes sense to erase all data from it without exception, as well as untie it from iCloud so that the next owner can further configure it as his own, create an account and not worry that you suddenly decide to manage (or block) his phone from your account.

This guide details all the steps that will allow you to reset your iPhone, clear all data on it and remove the link to your Apple iCloud account. Just in case: this is only about the situation when the phone belongs to you, and not about dropping the iPhone, access to which you do not have.

Before proceeding with the steps described below, I recommend creating a backup copy of the iPhone, it can come in handy, including when buying a new device (some of the data can be synchronized with it).

Read more:  How To Install Whatsapp On iPad iOS 13

We clean the iPhone and prepare it for sale

To completely clean your iPhone, remove it from iCloud (and untie it), just follow these simple steps.

  1. Go to Settings, click on your name at the top, go to the iCloud. Find iPhone section and turn off the function. You will be required to enter the password for your Apple ID account.
    Untie iPad From Icloud With A Forgotten Password
  2. Go to Settings. General. Reset. Erase content and settings. If there are documents not uploaded to iCloud, you will be prompted to save them. Then click “Erase” and confirm the deletion of all data and settings by entering the password code. Attention: it is impossible to recover data from iPhone after that.
  3. After completing the second step, all data from the phone will be erased very quickly, and it will reboot as soon as the iPhone was purchased, we will no longer need the device itself (you can turn it off by holding the power button for a long time).
Read more:  Which Tablet Is Better Than iPad Air 2

In fact, these are all the basic steps that are required to reset and untie the iPhone from iCloud. All data from it is erased (including credit card information, fingerprints, passwords and the like), and you can no longer influence it from your account.

However, the phone may remain in some other locations and there it may also make sense to delete it:

  1. Go to https://appleid.Apple.com enter your Apple ID and password and check if the phone is in the “Devices”. If it is there, click “Remove from account”.
  2. If you have a Mac, go to System Preferences. Icloud. Account, and then open the “Devices” tab. Select a resettable iPhone and click Remove from Account.
  3. If you used iTunes, launch iTunes on your computer, select “Account”. “View” from the menu, enter the password, and then in the information about the account in the section “iTunes in the cloud” click “Manage devices” and delete the device. If the delete device button in iTunes is not active, contact Apple Support on the site, they can remove the device from their side.
Read more:  How To Reset iPad If It Is Blocked By Icloud

This completes the procedure for resetting and cleaning the iPhone, you can safely transfer it to another person (do not forget to remove the SIM card), he will not get access to any of your data, your iCloud account and content in it. Also, when a device is deleted from Apple ID, it will be deleted from the list of trusted devices.